Reading Radio SolutionWire Logo

New Heritage Trails are launched in Brisbane

Brisbane heritage

By Claire Matthews

Brisbane residents can discover the city’s history with two new outdoor Heritage Trails now open, which will offer QR codes to unlock even more stories.

Brisbane City Council has opened two new trails through Coorparoo to Holland Park and Banyo to Nudgee, where visitors can walk past historical sites and learn more about their significance.

Lord Mayor Adrian Schrinner said the new trails wind from a winery in Brisbane’s north to schools transformed into hospitals during the Second World War and more.

“Each trail can take up to 1.5 hours to walk and cover an impressive amount of local history, with QR codes to tap into more stories, photographs and historical records,” Cr Schrinner said.

“There are 30 local heritage sites over the two trails, which explore forgotten pieces of the past, including Nudgee Golf Course’s history as a vineyard and winery and a block of land that was bought with only a £10 deposit in Coorparoo.

“Architecture buffs can swoon over Brisbane’s interwar architecture featuring bungalow and Old English elements in Banyo/Nudgee and in Coorparoo, and visit where local socialites of the time and pioneers lived, including Story Bridge Engineer John Ernest Kindler.”

There are now 19 Heritage Trails across Brisbane. QR codes are being trialled on the two new trails only and will be placed on poles across each route. Maps, information and pictures for all trails across the city can be found on Council’s website.

All local heritage places within the Brisbane Local Government Area are included in Council’s Local Heritage Places online.

In this online system, you can search for Brisbane’s local heritage places and access additional information, such as physical details, historical data, builder, architect, architectural period and style, as well as photographs.

Heritage trails include:

  • Albion
  • Ascot and Hamilton
  • Banyo and Nudgee
  • Bulimba
  • City Centre
  • Coorparoo and Holland Park
  • Fortitude Valley
  • Indooroopilly
  • Milton
  • Newstead
  • Nundah
  • Petrie
  • Reflections on the River
  • Rosalie
  • South Brisbane
  • Spring Hill
  • Sandgate
  • Gabba
  • Wynnum

Find more information on Brisbane City Council’s website.

Published with the help of our sponsors